Friday 5~ Fears

This week I want to get a little serious for my Friday Five and talk about the things that scare me…

1. I think the first one is pretty obvious and that’s the fear of losing someone that I love. I think pretty much all of us have this fear. For me it became bigger after I moved to Washington because there is the added element of never seeing the people I love again because most of them live so far away from me.

2. Another really big fear for me is going back to my old lifestyle. It’s especially hard for me now with this injury, because I don’t want to revert to my sedentary, couch potato life before I became really active. This also means not reverting to the hermit I used to be as well. I am enjoying my life now, much more active and social and so much happier and healthier overall, but there is a lingering fear that the old, lazier me will resurface and take back over.

3. Another fear I have is of dying alone. As I get older, I reflect on the choices that I have made, and sometimes I worry that by never marrying, I have set myself up to be alone when I’m older. While there is still definitely a possibility that I will marry or at least end up in a lasting relationship, I worry that when I am old, I will have no one. Right now I have my parents and my brother as well as some good friends, but what if I never find someone to share my life with?

4. This one is a fear that anyone who knows me will already know… I am terrified of any and all reptiles… yes this includes lizards and geckos and iguanas. I freak out when I see them, especially snakes! I don’t even like to look at pictures of snakes! My fear is completely irrational and is actually what keeps me from hiking more often (and camping). I love that the weather is generally too cold in the PNW for snakes to thrive, though sadly I have seen a few since moving to Washington (not since I moved to Seattle though, knock wood!).

5. Finally, I am afraid that I am not good enough… not as a blogger, as a friend, as a future personal trainer/ weight loss coach, as a sales associate, as a person in general. I feel a lot of the time that I let people down, or that they give so much more than I am able to. I guess its more a fear of disappointing people. I want to be the best person I can be, and I try to be that person, but a lot of the time I just don’t think its enough, and I am afraid that people are going to see this and just leave.

Leave a Reply

