Disabled List

Yes, unfortunately, I am on the disabled list. While walking home on Sunday night I experienced a sharp and lingering pain in my left calf muscle. I was only about halfway home, but continued the rest of the way, figuring it would work itself out. I was a little sore the rest of the day, but nothing too bad. On Monday, I walked to work and had a few twinges of pain, but nothing too bad. That evening I had some soreness, but again nothing too bad. Tuesday included a run, after which I was very sore. At this point I figured I was just experiencing some muscle soreness and that it would work itself out.

I walked to work again on Wednesday and again had some twinges of pain, plus experienced soreness throughout the day at work. After I arrived home Wednesday night, my calf was extremely painful and I tried heat and massage to work out the muscle. This morning (Thursday), I again walked to work. I was in so much pain I had to admit that the issue with my calf was more that just simple muscle soreness and that I indeed have an injury. I experienced minor pain in my calf all day while working and extreme pain when I walked to the bank after work. Needless to say, I took the bus home this evening rather than try to walk the 2 miles.

While I am disappointed that I am going to need to ease off my workouts for a while, I do not want to injure myself seriously, so I know that I need to give myself some time to heal from whatever is going on. I am hoping that this is simple a muscle strain or pinched nerve and not something worse. At this point my calf is painful when my foot is flexed and when walking normally. It is tender and sore to the touch as well on the inner portion of my upper calf.

Tomorrow I will be doing no lower body work or cardio to give my leg a chance to rest. I am off work tomorrow (Friday), Sunday and Monday, so will be able to completely rest my leg on those days. While I work on Saturday and will be on my feet all day, I will be taking the bus to and from work so that I am not stressing my leg any more. I will reassess on Tuesday to see if there is any improvement. If there is, I will resume my walking program and look at reintroducing running. If there is no improvement, I will be making an appointment with my doctor to see if there is a more serious underlying issue. I am obviously hoping that things will be better by Tuesday.

I have been pushing really hard the last couple of weeks because I really want to break this plateau I am on and reach my next goal by the time I go home for a visit (8 weeks & 10 lbs), so its really hard for me to step back, but I know that my overall health is more important than this short-term goal, so giving myself a chance to heal is the right decision.

How do you respond when you have an injury?

Leave a Reply

