One Foot in Front of the Other

Most of the time I don’t have any problems with my daily 4.5 mile round trip walk to and from work. As a matter of fact, I usually enjoy it. But then there are those days when the entire walk is nothing but torture and I hate every second of it. On those days its all I can do to keep putting one foot in front of the other to make it home. Sometimes only half the trip feels this way, but there are those rare occasions that both to and from work are a nightmare of a walk… yesterday was one of those days!

My morning walk to work started out with me being really tired, mostly because I hadn’t gotten enough sleep the past two nights. I hadn’t gotten more than a couple of blocks from my house when I had to stop to fix my shoe because my sock was slipping down. Another block and a half later I had to stop and fix both shoes for the same problem! And I had to stop again about a half a mile later to do the same thing. This time I tied the offending shoe really tight, almost to the point of cutting off my circulation. But thankfully I did not have the slipping problem the rest of the way.

A side note… it is definitely time for a new pair of walking shoes and I will be getting them (along with some running shoes~ finally~ next week), but I think that my Thorlo socks may be finally nearing the end of their life cycle because the elasticity around the opening is starting to loosen. I purchased my Thorlo walking socks over 5 years ago (a few pair closer to 8 years) so I guess I can forgive them for finally starting to give out. They are definitely worth the expense, so I will probably be picking up a few new pairs to replace the worst offenders soon.

Ok, back to my walk. Other than the sock issue and needed to go to the bathroom quite badly by the time I got to work, nothing else really eventful happened on either leg of the walk, just an extreme sense of exhaustion (especially on the return trip) and a general bad attitude about walking in general. I walked home pretty slowly and every step seemed like it took a herculean effort.

While I know there are good days and bad days all the time, I think I know why yesterday was so bad. There are several contributing factors, but these are the big ones:

1. Lack of rest! Both from not getting enough sleep and from not taking a rest day. I walk 4.5 miles every day that I work, do an alternative cardio workout on one of my days off and then do a cardio rest on the other day off. But for the last several weeks, I’ve been working 6 days instead of 5, so I am missing my rest days.

2. Improper fueling! My eating has been horrible lately, mostly because I haven’t gone shopping or made any meal plans. I grab whatever is convenient and have eaten very few freggies of late. While I am getting the nutrients I need for my body to function, I am not getting enough of the right kinds of fuel to get through the day… which is even more important than just the nutrients!

I will be fixing one of these problems with a big shopping trip and a menu plan tomorrow, but the other problem is harder to fix since I am working 6 days again next week as well. One thing that I am definitely doing is making sure that I am getting enough sleep, because I know that I really need sleep to function properly. While I could get away with 5-6 hours of sleep when I was younger, I need a full 7-8 hours now.

Another possible solution to the rest problem that I’m considering is to take a week off from walking to/from work and busing at least one direction for a while (I haven’t ridden the bus anywhere in over a month). This way I can focus on other cardio activities that I rarely get time for.

What would you do?

Leave a Reply

