The Books of May

Today is going to be a double post day!

I’ve mentioned before that I love reading, and I consider it an integral part of my healthy lifestyle because it allows me to relax, reflect and learn when I’m not working, playing or working out (or blogging for that matter). I decided that I would like to share with you the books that I have read each month, so on the first Sunday of the month, I will be sharing the books from the month before.

I also mentioned that I have diverse taste when it comes to books and am generally reading multiple books at the same time. I break books up into categories and only read one book from each category at a time. Sometimes one category will really appeal to me and I will devour books in that category for a while, taking longer to read books in the other categories.

Let’s take a closer look at the books I’ve read…

Non-fiction

Just 3 non-fiction books this month, focused on books, blogging and spirituality.

Memoir

I only read one memoir this month, I had a hard time getting into it, though I ultimately enjoyed it.

Fiction

Not only were all 3 fiction books in the same category this month, they were all also by the same author! I am on a huge Jayne Ann Krentz (Jayne Castle is a pseudonym for JAK) kick right now, I love that a lot of her contemporary books take place in Seattle and the PNW. I am reading another of her books right now.

I am reading my normal huge stack of books right now. I usually read a chapter a week in most of the non-fiction books, unless a topic really grabs my attention. The others I read at least a chapter a day, but there is usually one book in the group that really grabs me that I read several chapters when I have time. Here is the stack of current books…

Yep, it’s a pretty big stack! Many of these will continue into July’s list as well, but I know at least 4 of them will be completed in June… plus other titles in their categories as well. By the way, the categories are: Fiction- Romance, Fiction- Novel, Memoir, Fiction- YA Series (currently 2 in this category), Non-fiction- Spirituality, Non-Fiction- Health, Non-Fiction- Personal Development, Non-fiction- Writing, Re-read, Non-fiction- Blogging.

What does your reading list look like?

One response

  1. I’m very similar to you – I read many different types of books. I just started Jen Lancaster’s latest yesterday, just finished The Count of Monte Cristo, and will start “You are an Ironman” tomorrow. I usually read 2 at a time as well. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

