Friday 5~ Healthy Changes

I decided to share some healthy changes that I have made in my life to help me make the progress that you saw in yesterday’s blog. So here are 5 healthy changes:

1. Water! I rarely drink anything other than water any more and have stopped drinking soda entirely. I used to be a total Dr Pepper addict, but have completely broken the habit now. I will occasionally have fruit juice or lemonade for something different. I also drink chocolate almond milk once in a while for an extra protein boost. And there are the occasional adult beverages, but honestly on an average day you will find me drinking water.

2. Sleep! I used to be a total night owl and would stay up late watching movies, playing on the computer or reading. I would then have to drag myself out of bed in the mornings and would not have the energy to get through the day. Now I have cut back on my computer time, rarely watch TV (including DVDs) and clock a solid 8 hours of sleep most nights. I still read before bed, but make sure that the lights are out in plenty of time for me to get my zzzzs.

3. Walking! While I desperately miss my car, I do enjoy walking and feel great now that I walk almost everywhere. I even do my errands on foot most of the time, carrying packages to the post office or hauling groceries in my backpack. Just today I carried home an 18 count package of toilet paper plus had laundry detergent and cat food in my backpack. It keeps me active and lets me enjoy the sunshine.

4. Ditching Fast Food! I rarely eat at fast food restaurants anymore and when I do I choose healthier options. Because really, I’m not that fond of most fast food. I do have one “junk food” meal each week that is usually a burger (or hotdog) and fries at the local Five Guys, but other than that, I bring lunch to work and we cook dinner at home most nights. There are the occasional lunches out at places like Panera and we do sometimes go out to dinner, but for the most part our food is now home cooked.

5. Knowing When to Stop! This one goes two ways, knowing when I’ve had enough to eat and knowing when I need a break. When food tasted really good, I used to eat until I was so stuffed I could barely move. Now I have learned to stop eating when I am full, not stuffed. This means I get to enjoy my meal more and have more energy to do other things. As far as knowing when I need a break, there are times when I push myself and try to do more or work harder. I have learned that there are times when it is better for my body and my peace of mind to slow down and stop pushing. It’s ok to take an occasional day off where I don’t exercise at all, or where I just take an easy stroll around the neighborhood. This allows my body to rest and recuperate and makes it much less likely that I will injure myself (as I have done in the past).

So those are just a few of the changes that I have made in my life so far on this journey towards a healthier life…

What are some healthy changes that you’ve made?

One response

Leave a Reply

