The People

I tossed around several ideas for today’s blog, but what I kept coming back to is the people in my life who are there to support me and help to make me who I am.

First and foremost, of course is my family. My parents are amazing and have supported me every step of the way in everything that I’ve done. They prefer that I don’t talk about them on social media, so I will simply say that there has never been any doubt in my mind that if I needed anything, my parents would be there.

And then there’s my brother, who is truly my best friend. He has come through for me more times than I can count and is always my go to person when I have an issue and just need to vent. I know that I can tell him anything and he will always be there for me, no matter what.

There are also some really amazing friends, both back home and here in Seattle. Out of respect for people’s privacy, I won’t give anyone’s name or reveal any really private information about them, but I do want to recognize and thank them. Hopefully, if they read my blog, they will recognize themself by what makes me think of them.

Back home I have an amazing pair of friends who are a couple. I was friends with J first, long before he even met O and we instantly hit it off. We even lived together for a year, and while we have had our share of scuffles, I know that he is behind me in whatever endeavor I choose, they both are. Now that we live so far apart, its hard to keep in touch, but they are never far from my mind. All I need to do is see a tomato, Bumblebee Tuna, Denny’s or Spiderman and my mind instantly turns to J, there are songs and movies that also bring him to mind. And for O, it’s just a matter of hearing a Miranda Lambert song or eating a croissant and he is instantly in my thoughts.

There is another spectacular friend that I met back home and then followed up here. I’ve even lived with her for a time. We have virtually opposite tastes in everything from music to books, but I know that she is there for me and hope that she knows I am there for her. I can tell her pretty much anything and she will support me and cheer me on. In fact, next to my family she is probably my biggest cheerleader. It’s hard for us to get together often now because both of our schedules are so busy, but there are things that make me think of her as well… like Stephen King, Fringe (the TV series), Panera and Las Vegas.

Newer friends to my life who have become very special and I know are there for me include another J and T. J has opened his home to me and helped me in situations when I have been struggling. He has accepted me into his life as though I were a member of his family. Again, we have a hard time finding time to see each other due to our busy schedules, but things that bring him to mind are paintings, ice cream, views of downtown Seattle & popcorn. I have thankfully been able to see T every couple of weeks, and we chat frequently via text. He has been one of my biggest cheerleaders as well, especially on my currently healthy lifestyle journey. I think of him whenever I see a cyclist, go to Mac Grill or Stanford’s, or drink beer.

There are 2 other people who are really supportive of me as well, my boss and my roommate. I was very lucky in finding my job that it came with such a great boss who has become a friend. And I was even luckier when I went looking for a place to live and found my roommate, I couldn’t ask for a better one (no offense to any of my former roommates who may be reading this).

So that is a brief look at the people who support me. I would love to talk about some of them more, but will only do so if they don’t object. I just know that I am a very lucky woman to have such amazing people in my life!!

Who are the people who support you in your life?

Leave a Reply

