Training Tool

I decided today that I wanted to talk about my training, and with that one of my favorite training tools. I think that one of the best investments I ever made was purchasing a Gymboss interval timer(http://www.gymboss.com).  I own the pink one pictured here.

I absolutely love this timer and use it all the time. It comes in really handing for my 5k training right now, since I am doing run/walk intervals. I can set 2 different interval times and the number of times I want to cycle through the intervals. Since I usually take a longer route than it takes to finish my timed intervals, its great to know when I am done with the training runs and can focus on my walk for the rest of the distance. It beeps at the end of each interval, then has a different beep that it uses for the end of the last interval.

In addition to the intervals, you can use it as a regular timer and a stop watch. I use both of these functions as well in the course of my workouts. And sometimes use the timer for other things around the house as well (like to let me know when to get off the computer and get something done!).

** All comments and opinions are my own. I purchased my Gymboss for full price and am not being compensated in any way for my review.

This week’s training plan:

Sunday- Run/Walk 5k training (2/3 x5)
Monday- Cardio rest; strength 30 min full body/ 30 min upper body
Tuesday- Run/Walk 5k training (2/3 x5); 2 mile walk
Wednesday- 4 mile walk; strength 30 min full body
Thursday- Run/Walk 5k training (2/3 x5); 2 mile walk
Friday- 2 mile walk; strength 30 min full body/ 30 min upper body
Saturday- 4 mile walk

What training tools do you love?

Leave a Reply

