Organic Produce Delivery

I first learned about CSAs (Community Supported Agriculture) about a year and a half ago while I was still living in San Diego. I was really interested in the concept and have been wanted to join a CSA for about a year. Once I moved to Seattle, I started researching the options that were available in the are. There were a lot of things to consider when deciding whether or not to join, and once I decided to join, which one. In the end, I decided to go with Full Circle Farm (http://www.fullcircle.com/).

Full Circle is not technically a CSA, though it grew from a CSA. They do farm organically and all of the produce they deliver (whether grown on their farm or from a partner farm) is grown organically as well. They also partner with other local businesses to provide other items for delivery as well, such as artisan breads, eggs, dairy, meats, pastas, etc. They believe in supporting local businesses, providing high quality, organic (when possible) food, and in sustainable farming… things that I support as well. They also deliver to my door which was a big consideration as I don’t have a car. I felt really comfortable signing up for weekly deliveries with them and was really excited to receive my first order.

This morning I had my first delivery waiting on the porch at 6am. Since I decided to order some additional items to go with my produce box, I had 2 boxes waiting for me.

Inside my produce box were romaine lettuce, baby bok choy, radishes, a red bell pepper, 2 avocados, 3 tangelos, 3 Gala apples and 3 D’anjou pears. I have never really eaten pears before, so I was excited to try them!

In addition to the produce box, I ordered some bananas, celery, cucumber, eggs and a loaf of bread.

My roommate and I took full advantage and prepared a yummy breakfast of farm fresh eggs, toast, and leftover potatoes, plus sliced banana and diced pear. It was all so good! Later in the day I had a tangelo for a snack. I love having all of the fruit and veggies available for snacking throughout the day! Tonight we are planning to put together a salad to go with our dinner as well.

I am really happy that I decided to sign up for this service. It has truly met all of my expectations and then some! They even include a newsletter with recipes in each box (I also had a welcome letter, plus the packing list of what is included in each box).

This week I will be feasting on egg salad sandwiches and salads for lunch, and dining on fresh fruit with my breakfasts… I love it!!

** All opinions in this blog are my own, I have purchased the produce delivery and am not being compensated in any way for my review.

2 responses

  1. I so wish we could do a CSA thing here! There is very little that grows in South Texas. The only CSA in the area is very, very expensive, and the produce they send will be very limited in scope, especially in the hot months. In fact, I believe it’s only available 9 months of the year because nothing grows in the hottest part of the summer. So for now, we continue to get our stuff from the grocery store.

    Anjou pears are so yummy. I particularly like the red ones. I often eat them with a little bit of almond butter or natural peanut butter. I eat Barlett pears with cream cheese. I like to pair my fruit with some high protein, high fat foods – helps me to keep my blood sugar levels down and makes me stay full longer.

Leave a Reply

