A Look Back at My Journey So Far

Today I want to look back at my journey so far…

There is no one definite beginning to this journey as I have had issues with my weight since I was a kid. I made several half-hearted attempts to lose weight in my 20s and early 30s that only lasted a few days before I gave up~ usually because I was trying to change everything at once.

In my mid-30s I found Sparkpeople.com (http://www.sparkpeople.com) which provided me with support and encouragement and taught me to make small changes. But I continued to let life get in the way and would lose weight only to regain it plus more… until now.

At the beginning of 2011, I weighed 215 lbs, my highest weight ever, and I am only 5’1″. I determined that instead of vowing to lose x number of pounds that year, I would focus on becoming healthier and happier. Guess what… life happened in a big way in 2011, but I kept my vow in the back of my mind. While my weight fluctuated a bit during the year, I ended the year both healthier and happier… and 20 lbs lighter.

I started 2012 with the same vow and as of today have added another 15 lbs to my loss for a total of 35 lbs lost to date.

My weight loss has been slow for the most part, losing an average of just under 5 lbs a month to start the year, but the truth of the matter is that I have not had all of the pieces of the puzzle in place at the same time yet. There are periods where my fitness is great, but my nutrition is sorely lacking, and vice versa. I am finally coming to a place where I should have everything working together at the same time (exercise, nutrition, sleep, stress level, etc.), and I am really excited about what this will mean for my progress.

So here is a look at how far I’ve come so far (sorry no pictures yet, I need an updated picture):

Starting weight: 215 lbs
Starting BMI 40.7

Current weight 180 lbs
Current BMI 34.1

Goal weight 115 lbs*
*This is the middle of the healthy BMI range for my height, I may decide that I need to go up or down when I reach this point

Progress:
35 lbs lost
BMI reduced by 6.6 points
16.3% of body weight lost
35% to goal
Currently lowest weight I can remember since my 20s (I’m 40).

Have you struggled with weight loss or unhealthy habits that you’ve worked to change?

One response

Leave a Reply

