What a Difference a Year Makes

One year ago today I arrived in Washington. On April 3, 2011 I climbed in a rented moving truck with my brother, my cat and all of my belongings and left the life I had always known in San Diego. Approximately 36 hours later I arrived on my friend’s doorstep in Marysville, WA excited and apprehensive, not knowing what this new life would bring, but ready for the adventure.

Now, a year later, I am still in Washington, though am living in Seattle now. I have made some great friends, experienced things I never imagined, explored a new career (that I decided not to pursue) and found my dreams again. The year has not been easy, there have definitely been numerous challenges along the way, but I feel that I am in a better place in my life for the most part. I have been asked at various times whether I plan to stay in Seattle permanently and I really don’t have an answer for that. I am happy here now, but I also know that the world has opened up wider for me now and that I could really go anywhere my heart takes me.

I was trying to pursue a healthy lifestyle in San Diego, but had a lot of stumbling blocks and really a lot of history that was holding me back. Moving here opened new opportunities and allowed me to leave behind a lot of the baggage from my past life… both literally and figuratively. I have really been able to commit to living a healthier life since coming here. I am more active, eating better, and have less stress in most areas of my life (there is still one area that remains a huge stress, but I am working on it).

There are a lot of things that I miss about San Diego of course, especially since I have not been back for even a visit in the year since I left. What I miss the most of course is my parents and two of my best friends. I also miss really good Mexican food, Chili’s, Lay’s Limon potato chips, The San Diego Zoo, and sunny days (I don’t see enough of those here). I also miss knowing where everything is and how to get there. And I miss having a car, but that isn’t because of the move, I just haven’t had a car since a couple of months before moving so it’s linked together in my head.

But there are also things that I have found here in Seattle that I didn’t have in San Diego, like my other best friends (one of them is from San Diego but moved to Washington, the other’s I met here), new cuisines I never tried before (Indian, Thai, Ethiopian, Japanese…), mastery of the public transportation system, and a sense of adventure in discovering new things.

As I embark on my next year, I know that there are more adventures in store… because really, I’m just getting started!

Leave a Reply

