Pushing Through

This week has been pretty rough. I have been doing 40 hours a week at the hospital for my extern, then working 29 hours at my job, and most days I’m gone for 17 hours. I found that I wasn’t able to get into the gym like I was hoping and that I struggled to really get in any workouts. I did manage to get 3 small cardio sessions in this week as well as 2 strength sessions. I have been maintaining for the most part throughout my externship, but this week saw a small half pound loss which was awesome.

Because I am so tired, I have noticed that I have been very irritable lately. I am trying to overcome this and focus on the positives in the situation, but have not always been successful. The truth is that I am simply exhausted and starting to burn out a bit. Thankfully this is the last week for my externship and I will eventually get a day off where I can relax (March 20th). In the meantime, I have decided to stop pushing myself to get to the gym and am focusing on remaining more active throughout the day. While I miss the gym, I need to focus on getting rest right now.

That being said, I have been thinking a lot about my goals over the last week or so. I have a lot of ideas for new workouts that I want to try, and I want to kick my training up a notch once I am back to a normal schedule. I also decided that I want to be “overweight” by my birthday in July. According to BMI charts, etc. I am currently “obese” since I am only 5’1″ and currently weight 184.2. The magic number that moves me to the overweight category is 158, which is completely doable.

This week I am going to focus on staying healthy and keeping positive while I finish out this insane schedule, then I will be back to work and ready to really focus on my goals again!

On a completely unrelated note, I am looking for some inspirational, fun blogs to follow. If you have any recommendations (even if its your own blog) please let me know and I will check them out! Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

