What’s Changed??

My life has changed so much in the past year, it’s really amazing. This time last year I had just found out that I was going to be moving to Washington. I was making plans to pack, sell, and donate everything that was in my apartment, budgeting for truck rental and storage, cancelling utilities and all that good stuff. One of my best friends, who was my roommate at the time was in the process of moving out of the apartment and packing his stuff up. It was a time of stress, fear, excitement, nerves and a lot of work. It was a month later that I actually moved, but this is about the time it all started.

Once I moved to Washington I was introduced to a new environment, which was really intimidating. I was also truly on my own for the first time in my life. I was living with my best friend and her husband, but for the first time in my life, my family wasn’t right there to help me out if I needed it. (They are very definitely here for me, just not physically here). My brother is a couple of hours away and my parents are a couple states away. I really came to realize my strength and started getting to know my true self.

There were a lot of mis-steps along the way, and times that I closed myself away and hid who I really am, but underneath I was discovering so much more about myself. I took some paths that veered away from my ultimate goals and dreams, but they brought me new friends and new experiences that I would never have found otherwise.

I have been exposed to so many new things this year, new adventures, new foods, new people, new community, new field, new job… the list goes on. I have had more firsts this year than any other year of my adult life. It has truly been enriching and empowering.

Some of my new experiences (mostly food related):
1. Pad Thai
2. Ethiopian Food
3. Japanese Food
4. Garlic Fries
5. Brie
6. The field of pharmacy
7. Elliptical
8. Snow
9. Tilapia and Salmon
10. Adobo (both chicken and beef)
11. Creole food

But one of the biggest changes that has occurred this year isn’t my address or my job, its my attitude. I am so much more committed to myself and my healthy lifestyle. I have so much more confidence in myself than ever before. I am looking for new clothes and developing a personal style, I have developed a love for all things girly… shoes, purses, accessories, etc. I am putting myself out there a little more and feel that I am finally, really ready to start dating again. I absolutely love working out and going to the gym and the thing that makes me the most frustrated while my schedule is so busy is that I can’t spend as much time working out as I would like.

I almost feel like a new person, and its an amazing feeling! While I still miss California and consider it my home (and can’t wait until I am able to go home for a visit), I think that moving to Washington was probably one of the best decisions that I have made in my life, because it has allowed me to find myself.

I am looking forward to more great things this year and in the future because I have finally found my groove!!

Leave a Reply

