Crazy Schedule and Running

My schedule is pretty insane right now and will be for another 2 weeks. My goal during that time for this blog is to post something at least once per week. Once my extern is over, I will be able to devote more time to the things that are most important to me… my fitness plan, Sparkpeople, healthy living and this blog. In the meantime, I am spending 40 hours a week at my extern site and working around 30 hours a week at my job. I leave the house at 5:25am and return home at 10:20 pm most days.

In spite of the crazy schedule, I am also starting to train to run a 5K in a few months and joined an 8 week Rookie Running team on Spark. I was able to complete all three of my training sessions for the first week and feel really good about my progress. The plan calls for gradually increasing running time and so far I am barely running at all, but I can do it, which is more than was possible just months ago. Next week could get interesting as I haven’t figured out when I will be able to fit in my 3rd training session, but I will fit it in there somewhere! Maybe I’ll run to the next bus stop when leaving the hospital or get off a few stops early and run to work… I’m not sure yet.

My sleep cycle is definitely taking a hit right now, which is not easy. And my weight loss has slowed because I am both not sleeping enough and working out less than before. The good news is that its only 2 more weeks, so the end is in sight and I will still have time to meet my March goals once my schedule gets back to normal. I am trying to eat as healthy as possible and include as much activity in my day as I can to make up for the lack of formal exercise.

I am still feeling really good about the direction my life is moving in right now, despite being tired. I know that great things are just around the corner for me and I am still heading towards my goals!

Leave a Reply

