The Next Phase

Tomorrow I will be starting my 5 week (200 hour) externship to complete my training as a pharmacy technician. I am really hoping that the next 5 weeks go by fairly quickly and I can finish everything and graduate. Once I graduate I feel like my life will be my own again. To be perfectly honest, I am not all that enthralled by the whole pharmacy thing. Some of it is interesting, but I just don’t see it as a place that I want to spend the next 5 years of my life until I am ready to devote myself full-time to my dream career. But I am committed to finishing the program and I will. I will do my absolute best during my externship, graduate and get my license, but I don’t think that I will be seeking employment in the field. I am leaning more towards sticking with my current company and moving into a full-time supervisory position. I have already spoken with the powers that be about this and it is definitely an option for me, so I think that’s the option that I want to take.

Of course I am saying all of this before I have even set foot into a pharmacy to actually work. Maybe I’ll love it and change my mind. Maybe I’ll hate it and reinforce my decision. Or maybe I will continue to be indifferent to the whole thing, which would also reinforce my decision. With this type of attitude you may be wondering why I even started this program. In the beginning I really had no idea how I would feel about it. I was in a state of flux and needed something to change in my life, a friend suggested this and I decided to pursue it. I loved the first sequence which is all anatomy and physiology, but once we got into the actual pharmacy stuff my interest waned. But I have quit so many different degree programs, so I made a promise that I would complete this one.

The program has really done a lot for me though. It introduced me to two amazing friends, who I will always cherish (as well as some other friends too). It helped me define what it is I really want to do with my life (my job also helped with this). Without going to school, I would not have applied for the job that I have (which I love) or moved in with my roommate (who is awesome). So while I am not enthralled with the world of pharmacy (or the school I attended), I am extremely grateful that I made the decision to enter the program because it has helped me to find the right path and has brought me to the place where I am now.

I am very excited about my future, but anxious for it to begin. I have so many things that I want to accomplish and I finally feel like I can and will accomplish them!

Have you ever gone down a road with one destination in mind, only to find that it has led you to a completely different place?

Leave a Reply

