Stocking the Pantry

Considering that part of a healthy lifestyle is a healthy diet, a well stocked pantry is a key ingredient. I took the opportunity today to stock up on some great, nutritious food. I filled the fridge with salad greens, various veggies for snacking (broccoli, bell peppers, cucumber, etc.), some good cheeses (bleu cheese crumbles for salad, babybel for snacking & cheddar for quesadillas), hummus (roasted garlic of course), Almond milk (I am just now trying this, so we’ll see how it tastes) and Australian yogurt (Wallaby brand, its organic and really yummy). For the freezer, there is skinless chicken breasts, frozen veggies (corn, peas, broccoli & a mix) and some frozen fruits for smoothies (lots of berries). Then came the pantry itself! I loaded up on some organic whole wheat pastas and sauces, whole grain crackers, tortillas, rices (brown and basmati), soups, beans, nuts and lots of yummy fruits (apples, oranges, grapefruit, bananas, kiwi). Because I don’t eat a lot of meat, I tend to be a bit low in protein, so I also stocked up on some natural whey protein powder to put in my smoothies. I’m not a vegetarian, I just don’t eat a lot of meat and don’t like soy, so my protein tends to come from nuts, yogurt and cheeses with a little bit of meat here and there (mostly chicken or shrimp).

In addition to stocking the pantry, I also picked up a few other items that will make eating healthier meals easier with my busy schedule. The first is a set of lunch containers that I have on order that is portioned into perfect sizes. I also purchased a larger insulated lunch bag and some reusable ice packs. Because I need to pack food for lunch at school and then dinner at work a few times a week, the larger bag will come in very handy.

And then there are a couple of treats. I like to have some really good quality chocolate on hand. I find that if I have it available I don’t crave it, so when I want some its just a piece instead of a package. In the past when I haven’t had chocolate in the house, I would get cravings and devour packages of it when I got the chance. Keeping some in stock keeps me in check. That may seem counterintuitive and I know it doesn’t work that way for everyone, but it works for me. Right now I have some See’s chocolates. I’ve had the box for a couple of days and haven’t even opened it. I also have some protein bars that I’m sampling (I’ll be blogging on that soon) and whole grain chips for the salty cravings (again, when I have them I don’t feel the need to eat the entire package in one sitting).

What healthy treats do you like to stock in your pantry?

One response

  1. I like how you stock your pantry. I have a mix of healthy things (granola bars, nuts, oatmeal) and unhealthy (cookies, chocolate). I’m kind of on the line of you. If I don’t have it around, I want it. If I do have it, I can restrict myself from it easier. I really like chocolate so I’ve also found a way to include it, like making a trail mix and putting m&m’s in it, or like Raisinets (chocolate covered raisins). There’s probably healthier ways to do it, but this works for me.

Leave a Reply

